I checked out Tumblr today. My friend Tad has recently started a blog there. Although my reason for picking Weebly over Tumblr initially was almost nonexistent (that is, the choice was almost completely arbitrary), I am sticking with Weebly because
  • Tumblr seems not to offer any important features that Weebly lacks, and
  • it seems that the profanity over on Tumblr is easier to stumble over. The setup process required me to choose three blogs there to follow. Among the various choices were so many starting with the F word as to make running into them apparently unavoidable.

Because Tad uses Tumblr, I can feel certain that Tumblr must be cooler than Weebly, but I suppose that I must accept my station in life. Some, like me, have never been destined for coolness. Despite my awkward discomfort with the cool, I'd probably have switched to Tumblr if it offered easy integration with Google+.

This evening I met with some folks over at St. Francis. Our semiweekly meeting to discuss Catholic doctrine and modern science is now officially back in session. Today, I presented the distinction that Dodds makes between
  • modern science, which, starting roughly with Galileo and Descartes, narrowed the notion of causality down from the thick, classical conception of the four causes to a thin, pale shadow of efficient causality and
  • contemporary science, which, starting roughly with Einstein and Heisenberg, began to open up the philosophy of science again to consider other types of causality.

Finally, I wrote another paragraph for my upcoming post on conscience and the law.
Tad
11/1/2013 03:13:50 pm

Heh, you are an order of magnitude too kind --- I was the opposite coin flip of your arbitrary choice in that I had never heard of Weebly. :) I don't know of any firm advantage of Tumblr other than perhaps popularity, no doubt stemming from the rampant profanity. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.